Zenger Award


Zenger Awards

Started in 1954 by the UA journalism program, the John Peter and Catherine Anne Zenger Award honors those who have made extraordinary contributions to press freedom and the people’s right to know around the world.

The University of Arizona School of Journalism is one of only about 100 fully accredited journalism programs in the nation. Its classes range from traditional reporting skills to internet research and computerized graphic design. Its two newspapers, the local edition of The Tombstone Epitaph and El Independiente, the nation’s only student-run bilingual newspaper, are unique in American journalism education.

Who are the Zengers?

The Zenger Award is named for a husband and wife team of pioneering journalists.

John Peter Zenger was editor of the New York Weekly Journal in 1734 when he was jailed by British colonial authorities on charges of seditious libel. He had criticized the corrupt administration of New York’s governor, William Cosby. While Zenger was imprisoned, his wife, Anna Catherine Zenger, continued to publish the newspaper.

Zenger’s subsequent trial and acquittal is considered a landmark case in the history of freedom of the press, paving the way for the American Revolution.

Distinguished recipients

2021 — Committee to Protect Journalists, for its role in defending the rights and safety of journalists around the world.

2020 — Dean Baquet, a Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist and first Black executive editor to lead both The New York Times and the Los Angeles Times

2019 — Christiane Amanpour, Chief International Anchor for CNN and host of CNN International’s nightly interview program Amanpour. She is also the host of Amanpour & Company on PBS

2018 — Carmen Aristegui Flores, Mexican journalist and anchorwoman

2017 — Dean Baquet, executive editor of The New York Times

2016 — Dana Priest, Washington Post investigative reporter, two-time Pulitzer Prize winner

2015 — Kathy Gannon, AP foreign correspondent, and Anja Niegringhaus, AP foreign photographer

2014 — Paul Steiger, the founding editor-in-chief and CEO of ProPublica

2013 — Jonathan Randal, journalist, foreign correspondent and author

2012 — Rocío Gallegos Rodríguez and Sandra Rodríguez Nieto, investigative reporters, El Diario de Juárez, Mexico

2009 — Tom Arviso Jr., Navajo Times

2007 — Jerry Mitchell, Mississippi Clarion-Ledger

2005 — Bill Moyers, Broadcast Journalist

2003 — Vanessa Leggett, Lecturer and free lance writer

2001 — Lou Boccardi and The Associated Press

2000 — Paul K. McMasters, The Freedom Forum

1998 — U.S. Senator Patrick Leahy, D-Vermont

1997 — Mark Goodman, Student Press Law Center

1996 — Nat Hentoff, Washington Post

1995 — Ben Bagdikian, media scholar

1994 — Investigative Reporters & Editors

1993 — Jane E. Kirtley, Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press

1992 — Helen Thomas, United Press International

1991 — Peter Arnett, Cable News Network

1990 — Terry A. Anderson, The Associated Press

1989 — Robert C. Maynard, The Oakland Tribune

1988 — Jean H. Otto, The Rocky Mountain News

1987 — Eugene L. Roberts Jr., The Philadelphia Inquirer

1986 — John R. Finnegan, St. Paul (Minn.)Pioneer Press & Dispatch

1985 — Thomas Winship, The Boston Globe

1984 — Tom Wicker, The New York Times

1982 — Fred W. Friendly, Columbia Graduate School of Journalism

1981 — Paul S. Cousley, Alton (Ill.) Telegraph

1980 — Walter Cronkite, CBS

1979 — Jack C. Landau, Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press

1978 — Robert H. Estabrook, Lakeville (Conn.) Journal

1977 — Robert W. Greene, Newsday

1976 — Donald F. Bolles, The Arizona Republic

1975 — Seymour M. Hersh, The New York Times

1974 — Thomas E. Gish, The Mountain Eagle

1973 — Katharine Graham, The Washington Post

1972 — Dan Hicks Jr., Monroe County Democrat

1971 — The New York Times

1970 — Erwin D. Canham, The Christian Science Monitor

1969 — J. Edward Murray, The Arizona Republic

1968 — Wes Gallagher, The Associated Press

1967 — John S. Knight, Knight Newspapers, Inc.

1966 — Arthur Krock, The New York Times

1965 — Eugene C. Pulliam, The Arizona Republic and Phoenix Gazette

1964 — John Netherland Heiskell, Arkansas Gazette

1963 — James B. Reston, The New York Times

1962 — John H. Colburn, Richmond (Va.) Times-Dispatch

1961 — Clark R. Mollenhoff, Cowles Publications

1960 — Virgil M. Newton Jr., Tampa (Fla.) Tribune

1959 — Herbert Brucker, Hartford Courant

1958 — John Moss, U.S. House Govermental Information Subcommittee

1957 — James R. Wiggins, The Washington (D.C.) Post and Times Herald

1956 — James S. Pope, Louisville Courier Journal

1955 — Basil L. Walters, Chicago Daily News & Knight Newspapers

1954 — E. Palmer Hoyt, The Denver Post